My Beauty Evolution Story

One Girl’s Personal Story Of Beauty Evolution From Teens To Motherhood

I have taken quite a super long break from blogging but I am now dusting off my keyboard and can see the letters again. Or life had me a bit busy!

One thing I have found recently that I haven’t paid any attention to was myself. For the past 3 1/2 years of motherhood my little wildflower has been my focus. I have put myself on the back burner and was happy!

Growing up and being an adult I was always a person who didn’t really ever bother with makeup or fashion. It wasn’t an important life lesson or focal point my mother taught me. I am grateful for mom not being like that! But, I did wear makeup only if we were going out to a special event. I did pay attention to all the fashion magazines so I wasn’t in the dark.

But, the most critical turn around point was a college friend. She may not of known it but she had helped me in so many ways! I learned just by hanging out with her.  But, deep down I feel she was planning it all out! She took me out after classes or lunch time to try on clothes just for fun! I never had a girlie girl friend and it was amazing! She took me to the one spot I always feared or just avoided. Not really sure. The department store cosmetics counter! I got skin care and a makeup lesson. I learned about chain stores that only sold beauty supplies and these little adventures with my friend stayed with me forever. I am forever thankful and grateful for what she did. So, I took these tips and this little grasshopper leaped!

Fast forward I met husband and before baby I had a very natural polished look. I even worked up the nerve to become a regular at the hair salon. My college friend would have been proud. I was a regular at my favorite cosmetics counter. Everything she taught me was second nature and I was not afraid to do it on my own.  I was still always comfortable wearing bare skin and walking out the door! That will never change! But, not without SPF on my face and lips. Biggest anti-aging tip I have been doing for years. Everyone is still shocked at how old I am. But, that’s another blog to come.  I than worked in the dental field so did not wear makeup to be  surgical and contamination free. But when the weekend came I donned  a prettier face.

Than the world of motherhood rocked our little world! With a little wildflower in your growing tummy, there’s a lot of Do’s and Don’t! So, I learned that all my food, hair, skin care and makeup had to be stopped or change. So, I went cold turkey on everything! I learned about a dirty little word in the beauty world, parabens. I learned about the harmful damages it can do to a fetus. I learned about tuna fish and eating less of it because of the high levels of mercury. I still to this day do not bother eating tuna. I made a clean sweep of everything I ever loved because of a baby wildflower coming! So, I spent a lot of time researching about healthier safer products and learned to read labels. I learned a new foreign language basically super-duper long science words that are in English. LOL!  Mind blowing. I still use the same standards as if I was still carrying my child. Why would I want to go back and use all those harmful products knowing they were horrible for a growing baby and myself. So, I feel better and safer when I put anything on my skin or in my mouth to eat. Why change and go backward!

So, presently I have treated myself to going to the hair salon and feeling fresh! The salon uses hair products I can happily use too! That was the finally point and time of finding me again. Third time is always a charm! My own mother even said I don’t just look like a mom anymore but now a house wife! That’s amazing coming from my mom. I loved the idea looking like a NJ House Wife but with no makeup on mind you. So, my next step with was to find time to look and feel more polished as a mom. I wanted this new old feeling to stick around a lot longer. I was once again drifting back to what my college friend taught me. Learn as much as you can about the best and healthiest foundation. I searched my butt off on the web and YouTube. Love how tech has changed since last time. Than my friend posted a blog of beauty product loves. Perfect timing or was she hearing my call for help once again, like Wonder Woman. Or maybe she is Wonder Woman since my friend is blessed to be Greek. But, I was headed to the right direction, again.

I was getting ready for a birthday party and did everything! Makeup, hair and I even dared to put that nice smelling stuff you call perfume! I did not believe how I looked! My husband’s reply or reaction was this. Wait for it. Shocked eyes ” Well, hello again! I haven’t seen you in a while.” I knew I had to of done something right! Especially dusting off all the pretty perfume bottles. No joke.

So, I headed to my old favorite beauty change store and mommy got treated to a mini make over. I wasn’t really outdated one bit but maybe on one thing. Of course my “little wildflower” was at my side looking over a bag full of books. She loved mommy’s pretty look! But, I will always teach her that we are beautiful in our own SPF skin.

Thanks for reading,

Wildflower Mom

Leave a Comment or Question

