The Battle Of The Pre-K Germs

Pre-K mom’s crazy routine for stopping the germs at the door! Or just trying too!

OK. Call me crazy but I have a must be done routine when my wildflower comes home from Pre-K. I having a background as a dental assistant I have done this a billion times during the working hours. But, now I apply it to my little wildflower. Cross contamination is something I live and breathe even in the real world. I am not a germ phobic but my training in dental school made me this way.

My super best friend Professional Lysol disinfecting spray can Brand III ! Love Professional Lysol cleaning products in every form! I choose the crisp linen scent and spray away. Find all information at http://www.lysol.com OK I am done advertising here.

We come through the door and she immediately knows the drill now. Shoes and shirt and maybe pants are removed. Shoes are sprayed with Lysol spray. Face and hands are scrubbed with warm soap and water. Wash cloth, shirt and pants goes in the hamper to be washed. New shirt, pants and maybe socks. It all depends on how I am feeling really. I ask her if anyone at school was sick, coughing or sneezing. She tells me no. But, knows I am not done. Remember crazy here.

The backpack, folder, jacket, and lunch box are sprayed down with Professional Lysol. Lunch box, bottle, containers and every single part is washed in hot soapy water and dried. Jacket will be added to the wash of course! Only if necessary. If a special prize was given as a reward it too meets Mr. Lysol spray can!

I am not crazy my child will get sick no matter what. But, if I can prevent the germs living and  multiplying. I will not wait until  bath time at the end of the day. Crazy! She is new to being away from her stay at home mom and so germs will attack her more since she was never in daycare. So, this is my crazy battle to have her socialize, learn, and battle the germ wars at home.

Before she was too young to explain germs. But, with the wonderful land of YouTube I got through to her! Now hand washing and germs are second nature. Scrub, scrub and washing the germs down the drain! Pick any video for children’s education on germs. It’s amazing how their little eyes open up to seeing it! So, wildflower is more prepared in knowing just how to be healthy and clean. Plus every time we have to buy a new can for home. We always buy another spray can and wipes for the Pre-K teachers, to help them for clean up time too!

(Yes, I know it’s bad to use spray cans but I always send my child to her room so I can spray. Plus I open the windows to bring in some fresh clean air.)

Thanks for read!

Wildflower Mom

Leave a Comment or Question

