Butternut Squash Recipe Part II

Last one being whole!

This is my creation and it’s not what you think! Last photo of being whole!

Dessert Time With The Other Half Of Squash! Part II

Now, I have a major sweet tooth! I love to follow, mix, match and revamp favorite recipes. But, this is my newest shining star in the oven!

But, it may also be forbidden! My secret is I played around with an old family recipe!

My great-grandmother Cooper’s recipe.

But, I love her recipe and I think looking down from heaven she would be proud! So, I love Mother Cooper’s recipe and I can never get enough of any fruit crisp!

Why, not marry them!

Ok. I can’t do that so let’s experiment and this is what I came up with. My lovely family who grow up knowing Mother Cooper LOVED IT!

So, this is my 2nd time creating my recipe.

I have a step by step photo shoot to help you along the way.

Read the recipe first. Click or tap on the photos for more tips and tricks!

I even had a surprise visitor and it wasn’t my little baker assistant Wildflower!

Butternut Crisp Pie

Preheat 425 degrees

(This is the most important step! 425 degrees for 10 minutes AFTER LOWER oven temperature down to 350 degrees for 40 to 45 minutes!)

(I forgot this and had to do in backwards! Best to share failures and wins. But, nothing bad happened.)

This makes one large pie and one small pie.

2 cups Butternut Squash or half a squash

2 cups milk

3 eggs beaten

1 Tablespoon of heaping flour

1 1/4 cup white sugar  (You can minus some sugar if you want. About a 1/4 cup or 2 Tablespoons) ( Husband was born without a sweet tooth.)

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon salt

Beat for 2 minutes

Add 1/4 cup sweetened shredded coconut and mix.

Pour into pie shell.

Sprinkle with cinnamon and blow.

 

 

 

 

Crisp Crust Recipe

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup white sugar

1 cup oats

1 cup flour

1/2 cup butter

2 teaspoons cinnamon

Mix in bowl with fork and then mix with your hands.

Grease your pie pan or baking dish.

Dump in pan and form the crust.

Pour filling into crisp crust.

Sprinkle cinnamon and blow.

Bake at 425 for 10 minutes down to 350 for 40 to 45 minutes.

Remove and cool.

Tip I made this whole recipe minus 1/4 cup sugar, 1 cup sugar and 2 teaspoons cinnamon. It was sweet but not over kill. But, I love it with all the sugar and spice. But, perfect to adjust for your sweet tooth! More or less is up to you.

If you have any questions please comment or email me at growingawildflower{at}comcast{dot}net

Enjoy!

Thanks for reading & baking,

Wildflower Mom

Love this blog and baking! Remember to share and like on your social networks.

Leave a Comment or Question

