Let’s Open A Box Cake For A Golden Barrel, Make, Bake and Review!

CIMG6056I for one do not buy box cake mixes since, I personal feel baking from scratch is so much better in the end!

But! I let this slide for once and for a little kitchen adventure!

I live in Southern New Jersey and I can say I have never eaten Shoofly Pie. So, I would give a pretty good review!

Golden Barrel asked and  offered this chance and I took it! I been wondering for a few decades what it tasted like…..

Here we go!

 

 

It was the most easiest box cake I every tried! Boom two products in the box, mix and syrup!

Dump the mix in a bowl and pop in a 1 cup of  softened room temperature butter.

Use a fork or better yet your best kitchen tool, hands to work the butter and mix into crumbs.

When done mixing you will feel like you are playing in fresh sandbox sand. Pretty and fluffy mix. 🙂

Measure out 1 1/2 cups of mix and put it to the side for the end.

Pour in the jar of syrup and 2 cups of boiling water. Using a hand mixer is best and finish off with a spatula to get all the ingredients from the bottom and sides of the bowl blended. One final mix with hand mixer.

Batter will be very thin.

Pour the batter into a greased and floured pan.

Sprinkle the reserved crumb mix on the top!

Bake in a 350 F oven for 45 minutes. Check when done with a toothpick and go around the edges with a butter knife. Let it rest to cool.

 

TIME TO EAT MY REVIEW CAKE!


 

This cake is perfect if you are allergic to eggs or nuts.

Took less than five to ten minutes to make and pop in the oven. Pretty easy for anyone who is new or not  great at baking, yet!

The kitchen had a dainty sweet barley sugary scent and I couldn’t wait to try it! I took a piece early while it was still hot and toasty. It had a nice sugary crumb topping, warm, soft buttery cake, gooey, chewy, and just the right touch of sweet. But, not too much.

Even my husband who was born without a sweet tooth gave it a try! Now, he is a person who gags and gets sick at anything with sugar. Even the smell will do him in! So, I asked him to give me his take on this for the review!

Fingers crossed!

He said it really wasn’t as bad as he thought it would be and surprised he could actually eat several bites. He would be able to sit and enjoy dessert time at a family dinner or holiday for once! He suggested serving it with heavy creamy peach ice cream on top. I though heavy crème on top would be lovely but by its self it’s wonderful too!

Now, my review for a box cake mix, I would have been asking the host to give me their recipe for this cake! I would have never known! Truly and honestly!

My Wildflower’s review was very easy and I gave her a bite. I was hoping she would like it. She was so happy and smiled while she slides my plate over closer to herself and stole my cake! Hmmmm….I love cake! I want more! She got so excited after dinner every night jumping up and down asking for more cake! She was pretty sad on the cake’s last day.

I felt a time warp back to my grandmother’s or mother’s kitchen, with me in pigtails with my love one putting down a talk glass of creamy milk and giving me a piece of warm cake from the oven. Sweet memories from a box cake. Enjoy and be happy with cake.

To order log on to http://www.goldenbarrel.com and click on Mixes for Golden Barrel Pennsylvania Dutch Old Fashioned Shoofly Cake Mix! You will love it!

 

Thanks for reading and trying something new,

Wildflower Mom

 

2 thoughts on “Let’s Open A Box Cake For A Golden Barrel, Make, Bake and Review!

Leave a Comment or Question

